Skip to main content
What are the Advanced Settings of an App used for?

Learn about the Advanced Settings of the Apps in Fulcrum.

K
Written by Karin De Uriarte Langholz
Updated over a week ago

When you are either creating or editing an existing App, you will notice the Advanced Settings button, on the right-hand side of the screen, just below the App Image.

Advanced Settings

As you as you click on the "ADVANCED" button, a pop up window will appear. It includes 5 setting options.

Let's review each of them in detail.

App Status

The Apps status is a dropdown field that allows you to select between 'Active' and 'Inactive'. This setting has a direct impact on the visibility of the Apps in mobile devices.

When you first create a new app, it will be active by default, and the only way this can change is if the App manager of the organization switches the status.

Setting an App as inactive in the Advance Settings popup window.

Active apps are available to all members that have access to the app and it will be downloaded the next time the login to their mobile device and sync the data.

If the App Manager of the organization switches the status of an app to inactive, then the app is no longer available on mobile devices, however, it can still be accessed on the web app by those users with access to it.

The data gathered for apps that are set to inactive is not lost. It can still be accessed through the web app.

How do I see my inactive apps?

On the top of your app dashboard in the web app, there is a filter dropdown that will allow you to select between your active, inactive, or All your apps. You will still be able to edit and view data within an Inactive app.

Trial accounts with less than three apps will not see the active/inactive filter dropdown.

Notes

  • If you change the status of an app to Inactive when there is still unsynced data on mobile devices, those records will not sync. You will need to make the app Active again in order to get those records to sync, before changes the status again.

  • Inactive apps still use storage on your plan. If you want to free up storage, you will still need to remove the media, records, or delete the app (after downloading the content).

Projects Enabled

The ability to tag records with a project in an app is not enabled by default. You will need to enable it if you desire to have this option in the Advance Settings of your app.

Projects are really helpful to organize your data into specific groups that make sense for your and your organization.

Notes

  • When projects are disabled for an app, any records tagged with a project will have the project value removed (set to null).

  • Disabling projects will allow all users in an app to view and edit all records in the app.

  • On the iOS and Android apps, newly created records will automatically have the same project as the previously-saved record.

Assignment Enabled

This option allows you to assign records to individual users. This means that the access to that record is going to be limited to the user it was assigned to, App managers/owners, and any custom role that includes the option to 'Assign Records'.

To learn more about how to assign records to individuals from the Record Editor or through the Importer, please check out the following article:

Notes

  • Disabling record assignment will allow all users in an app to view and edit all records in the app.

  • Record Assignment can only be done through the web app and the importer. In the Mobile apps is not possible to assign a record to another user in the account. Records can only be assigned for the user that created the record if the "Auto-Assign Records" options is enabled.

  • When record assignment is disabled for an app, any records that are assigned will have the assignment value removed (set to null). This will trigger an edit for that app and, as a result, a new record version in the history.

  • When a user's access to a record is revoked, like when the record is assigned to another user account, the mobile apps will retain an old version of that record. The user will not be able to sync any changes to that record and they will not get any updates from that record. In order to remove the record(s) that the user no longer has access to, they can either be deleted locally on that device or the record cache can be reset on the mobile device (found in the settings page of the Fulcrum mobile apps).

  • Data events do not currently have any ability to assign records or change what user account the record is assigned to.

Auto Assign Records

Enabling this option requires that the previous Advanced Setting "Assignment Enabled" has been enabled, otherwise, this option will be grayed out.

Enabling the Auto Assign Records option to an app from the Advanced settings menu.

Once this option is enabled, the newly created records for the app will be automatically assigned to the user that created them.

Hidden on Dashboard

This option's intended use is to hide reference data (lookup tables) in record link fields. When enabled the app and all accessible data will still be downloaded to the mobile device, however the app will not be accessible by the app selector on mobile devices.

This is ideal if you do not wish to present the linked app to the field user and only want them to access the linked app through the record link field.

Did this answer your question?