All Collections
User Management
Managing Member Permissions
How do I Grant/revoke access to a project?
How do I Grant/revoke access to a project?

Where you can control what projects a member of your plan has access to.

Mike Meesseman avatar
Written by Mike Meesseman
Updated over a week ago

Projects are tags that you use to identify and categorize your records. Once a record is tagged with a project only users that have been granted access to that project will be able to see and edit them.

This article covers:

Creating a new project and granting members access

When you create a new project you can grant members access to that project.

To get to the project page where you can manage and create projects, click on the setup button in the sub-menu on the the homepage. This will open a drop down menu where you will find the projects button.

Once on the projects page, you will be taken to the project overview page, you can come back to this page later and edit the name and permissions for exiting projects. In the upper right corner you will see the option to create a new project.

Once you click on the new project button, you will be taken to page where you can give the new project a name, a description, and grant users in your plan access to use this project.

After a project has been created the users will be able to start to tag records with that project.

Editing access for an existing project

For existing projects, there are three ways that you can change who has access: the project page, by editing the members, or via groups.

Project page

On the project page, you can click the edit button to the right of the layer name that you wish to change the permissions for or the name of the layer.

On the edit project page, you can edit the permissions and then update the project.
โ€‹

If a member has access to the project via a group, the member will be automatically selected on the Members tab and there will be a groups symbol. To remove access to the project, the member or the project must be removed from the group.

To add or remove a group to a project, switch to the 2nd tab of the project permissions modal. If you are not an owner, you will only be able to add or remove groups that you are aโ€‹ member of.

Members Settings

On the members tab of the settings page of the Fulcrum web app, you can edit the permissions for specific user account that are members of your plan. Besides the project, you can also edit the member's role and what apps and layers they have access to.

Groups

You can also add or remove groups of members from a project by directly editing the group.

Syncing to add/remove project records to the mobile app after access is changed

  • When a user is added to an existing project, it is sometimes necessary for that user to reset their records cache and perform a full sync to ensure all of the project records are added to their device.

  • When a user is removed from a project and therefore loses access to the project records, the next sync will automatically remove those project records from their mobile device.

    • One exception: To prevent data loss, if a record has unsynced changes, the record will not be removed from the device. In that case, the user will receive an error when trying to sync the record up to the server. The user can be reassigned to the project to allow that record to successfully sync. Or, if the unsynced changes are not needed, the user can delete the record from their device.

Did this answer your question?