Moving the apps between plans
To move the apps and any associated choice lists or classification sets you will want to use the share app template option found in the apps’ dashboard pages.
After the app has been shared and if you shared the app with yourself. You will want make sure to switch to the plan you wish to add the apps to before clicking on the links in the share app template email.
After you or the person you shared the app with has clicked the link in the share app template email and the app has loaded in the app designer, you will need to make sure and save the app, then start the next one.
Any predefined choice lists or classification sets will be copied over when you move the app. So there is no need to reproduce these as long as they are being used by the app(s) being shared.
If you are using record linking, you only need to share the app with the record link field. The app that is linked through the record link field will be copied over like the predefined choice lists/classification sets.
Another note about record linking, if you have apps linked in a way that results in a circular loop (App A linked to App B, App B linked to App C, and App C linked to App A) the sharing of the apps will result in an error. The reason for this is that a circular loop is created, so the circular loop will need to be broken before the app can be shared. It is typically best to export all the data out, break the loop, copy the apps over. Then recreate the loop and import the data.
Moving the data
To export the data you will likely want to use the exporter over the downloader. The main advantage the exporter has is that you can include the photo files if your app is capturing photos. If you do not have photos to move, you can use either option. It is typically easier to use the CSV file type when exporting the data but you can use Shapefile if you wish. When using the exporter, the only option that you should select is to include photos.
Once you have exported and downloaded the ZIP file that is produced you can take that ZIP file and directly import it into the new app as new records.
The created and edited timestamps and ‘by’ system fields will be changed to the current timestamp and user account importing the data. This is because the system is views this as new records in a new app.
Do not select the option to include full history when exporting the data out of the original app. History cannot be transferred to the new app and including the history will just result in a record being created for every record version that is included in the data file.
If you do have record linked apps, recreating the links can be a bit of a pain. This is due to the records getting new record IDs when they are being imported into the new apps. The best way to do this is to rename the record_id column in the data files to something else. Then in the app itself create a text field and map that column to the text field. This will allow you to see the original ID and the new ID. Starting from the linked app import the data into Fulcrum as new records. Then run an export and use that data file to replace the record IDs in the data file with the record link field. After everything is completed. You can delete the text field from the app.
When importing data and photos, make sure that the uploaded ZIP file contains all the photos and the data files. The importer will see that the photo ID is already in use but since the photo is present it will upload the photo and rename the photo file.
When uploading data in a repeatable section, make sure to include both the parent and child data files. There is no need to worry about the record IDs like with record linking but the importer does need the parent file to import any child records.